Fall Writes: Week 6

Welcome to week six of Fall Writes! If you’re looking for some writing process inspiration, check out “5 Lessons I Learned Writing Every Day in June” over at ProfHacker.

Your weekly goals are posted below. Happy writing!

Goals

Nicole

1)– I want to finish the revision to get to my (own) editor by Friday (including cutting down almost 2300 words that I’ve added since starting to revise–this is actually BETTER than where things were at last week). The library sessions seem to be good for me so I want to keep with these (including Thurs AM, Fri AM, Sunday early afternoon), but not only.

Chez

1) Figure out the specific literature I’m addressing, which should help with focusing my argument. 2) Decide which sections to cut from my diss chapter for the article. To stick to these goals, I’m going to schedule writing times for Thursday and Friday mornings, 3 hours minimum each day.

Meg

I aim to work on the probation chapter for two hours today, two hours tomorrow, and two hours “with” Nicole on Sunday afternoon. I really need to have put the finishing touches on the first draft of this chapter by a week from today (10/20) so that I can devote next week to finishing the institutional circuits chapter and maybe only blow my self-imposed deadline for both of these by a week or so.

Dan

I’ll be at a research workshop Thursday through Saturday, which is going to eat up a good amount of time. For Tuesday, I have some job applications that need to go in, transcripts to clean up for my digital humanities class project, and I want to continue chipping away at my manuscript revisions—at this point, I’m going back to some research I did a while ago and writing it up. Saving grace for Wednesday will be that two classes are taking midterms, so I can use that time as necessary to get things done. Once the research workshop is over, I’m going to have to grade about sixty midterms, so probably not much writing is going to get done over next weekend.

About droyles

Historian of the recent American past.
This entry was posted in Fall Writes and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Fall Writes: Week 6

  1. Nicole says:

    OK, excited to report I finally got my R and R to my editor to help me cut it down more (!!) and make sure one point in the revision is clear. Now for the memo while the ppr is out of my hands!

  2. Meg says:

    I lost all of last week–as I kind of expected–to more pressing things. I was not able to meet even the very low bar I set for myself, so I am attempting to overcome my shame by posting new goals here and hoping for a better outcome this week. Writing schedule goals:
    Today (Mon.): Write for two hours, likely from about 3 to 5pm
    Tues: Write for two hours from 8 to 10am; work on paper presentation.
    Weds.: Write for two hours from 8 to 10am; finalize paper presentation materials for conference.
    Thurs.: Write on the plane for an hour; do more work on presentation as needed.
    Fri.–Sat.: Conference and interviews.
    Sun.: Write on the plane for an hour.

Leave a comment