Summer Writes: Week 11

Cherokee syllabary, showing the script invented by Sequoyah. From the National Library of Medicine's Native Voices.

Cherokee syllabary, showing the script invented by Sequoyah. From the National Library of Medicine’s Native Voices.

Welcome to week 11! We’re really in the homestretch, so it’s time to start wrapping up those summer goals—at least for our purposes, anyway. If you’re like me, you’ll be working right on through August, but it’s good to stop sometimes and reflect on what you’ve accomplished. So as you set your goals this week, think about what you can do to make yourself proud at the end of week 12, whether that means devoting some time to a neglected project, challenging yourself to get a bunch of words down on the page, or hammering our your syllabi for the fall.

And as always, happy writing!

Weekly Goals:

Roberta: My goal is to get that context research completed so I can begin to sketch out a rough draft of chapter two by next week. I continue to complete at least 4 -50minute pomodoro sessions each day and often put in 6. Feeling good about the amount of progress I’ve made so far this summer even if the plan changed dramatically from my original (unrealistic) goals.

Steph:

1) finish revisions for article and resubmit on Saturday
2) check footnotes/tie up loose ends for two book chapters by Sunday

Melanie: Lately I’ve been working on refining my chapter outlines and rewriting + expanding my first chapter. My goal for the summer is to still finish a draft of my 1950s chapter, which needs to be ready to workshop in early September. My plan to turn in a whole first half might have changed a little bit as I think I may need to add another chapter… but I’m just rolling with it. At the very least, I finally know what this whole project looks like, which is incredibly empowering. Hoping to knock out a few pages by the end of the week when I am back in Philly but not putting much pressure on it as I am TIRED.

Meg: My one must-do task is to pull together a 5 or so-page paper by Thursday and submit it to the panel organizer for a conference I have in a couple of weeks. Anything I accomplish on top of that will be gold!
Goal for Fri-Sun (if still alive): get back to diss. Revisit chapter synopses I wrote and start expanding into more detailed outlines for the remaining two empirical chapters and the intro/lit review.

Dan: This week I want to log four 50′ poms a day for the remaining three days, since it’s Tuesday night already and I’m very behind! But I definitely need to order those books, edit and resubmit the blog post, start on article revisions, and work on job materials.

About droyles

Historian of the recent American past.
This entry was posted in Summer Writes and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Summer Writes: Week 11

  1. oh hey team! I have been in the home stretch of a 2 month long research trip (last day is tomorrow!) so my writing has tapered a bit as I tie up lose ends and keep coming across more crazy stuff. Lately I’ve been working on refining my chapter outlines and rewriting + expanding my first chapter. My goal for the summer is to still finish a draft of my 1950s chapter, which needs to be ready to workshop in early September. My plan to turn in a whole first half might have changed a little bit as I think I may need to add another chapter… but I’m just rolling with it. At the very least, I finally know what this whole project looks like, which is incredibly empowering. Hoping to knock out a few pages by the end of the week when I am back in Philly but not putting much pressure on it as I am TIRED.

  2. Steph Hinnershitz says:

    Since I start back the 18th, I’m trying to get all of my summer writing/revising goals wrapped up by then (because I’ll be in the midst of course prep and such).

    My goals for this week are:

    1) finish revisions for article and resubmit on Saturday
    2) check footnotes/tie up loose ends for two book chapters by Sunday

  3. Roberta says:

    Holy Crap! I went down a black hole and missed two weeks of reporting in! Writing has been intermittent as I found I knew far too little about the big picture of chapter two and have had to devote time to gathering that data. My goal is to get that context research completed so I can begin to sketch out a rough draft of chapter two by next week. I continue to complete at least 4 -50minute pomodoro sessions each day and often put in 6. Feeling good about the amount of progress I’ve made so far this summer even if the plan changed dramatically from my original (unrealistic) goals.

  4. Nicole says:

    Seems like a few people are into this 50 minute pom thing… Thoughts?

  5. Nicole says:

    This past week, happy to report I deposited my dissertation!!!!
    Right now I am in the midst of packing and moving so I am realistically not writing.

  6. droyles says:

    Congrats, Nicole! Last week I stuck to my work goals and did everything but start on article revisions. I’ve been waiting for some feedback, but I will probably just start in based on Melanie’s suggestions, which couldn’t hurt in any case. This week I’m at the University of North Texas doing some research, so it might be a challenge to squeeze work in. As the semester approaches, I also feel myself pulled in a lot of different directions—fellowship applications, the job market, preparing for the semester, working on the article. I think I’ve pulled together some good first draft job materials over the past week, the first of which I’m sending to The Professor Is In a week from this Wednesday for review. (After spending a grueling eight months on the job market, I bit the bullet and got some professional help.) So this week I want make sure that’s as good as I can get it for now, chart out the readings for my two US history courses, and start in on article revisions. I’m going to do one 50′ pom in the morning before the archives, and two in the evening when I’m done. This will bring me closer to one of my goals for the summer—turning a diss chapter into a journal article and submitting it. The other—working up a book proposal for an edited collection based on the African American AIDS Activism Oral History Project—got pushed to the side when I reconsidered the publishing schedule I had laid out in my head. In the end I think this is a smarter career move, putting that project in a better place for my long game. In the end, I think I really fleshed out my diss chapter in a good way, such that it half of it can now stand on its own as an article. I’m also proud of myself for starting to plan my classes well in advance of the semester, and I think I’ve lined up some good stuff for my students to do.

    Oh, and I went to the On the Run tour.

Leave a Reply

