Summer Writes: Week 7

House of Kemat's Klingon alphabet and number chart.

House of Kemat‘s Klingon alphabet and number chart. You can learn some Klingon from this instructional video.

True story: when I was twelve, my dad dragged us on a cross-country road trip. My act of rebellion was to bring along my Klingon language tape and practice in the backseat.

As usual, leave your goals for the week in the comments if you haven’t done so already, and I’ll add them to the list. Happy writing!

Weekly goals:

Nicole: 1) read the whole dissertation, warts and all. Monday + Tuesday.
2) list for myself some of the possible critiques so the feedback from committee is not too crushing. Monday + Tuesday.
3) get ready to receive some initial feedback from my advisor on the whole package (ack; not sure when)
4) plan a short presentation for the defense (the following week) and find someone who’s not trying to finish to practice it with. Wed, Thurs, Fri.
5) write an abstract and revise that a few times until it’s tight enough to share (either entirely below 350 words, or two versions with one that short) to distribute around the end of the week (by Thursday) or the following Monday.

Chez: Complete formatting, acknowledgements, and abstract – submit final dissertation to the Graduate School (Mon. and Tues.); begin reading a book a committee member recommended to help frame possible methods article; begin planning/possibly outlining possible methods article; complete housing trip.

Meg: I am on track to send round 2 of the parole chapter, plus a rough outline of the women chapter (with data excerpts, concepts, etc.), to my advisor by the end of the day on Tuesday. On Weds., I will need to catch up on paid work that I have neglected. Thurs. I will return to the R & R. I’m not sure how long these revisions are going to take me, and I still want to move forward with the women chapter to meet my goal of a first draft to my advisor by the end of July, so I will likely post again mid-week once I’ve figured out more specific process tasks.

Dan: Tuesday and Thursday I’m going to get in five fifty-minute poms, writing from 10 to 12, 1 to 3, and 330 to 430. Wednesday I’m doing an oral history in the afternoon, so I’ll likely cut that down to two poms in the morning and one or two in the afternoon.

Melanie: I will take a break for the holiday but have a 45 minute talk coming up that I will start to get together in the coming week.

Roberta: 1) to arrange for my sister (archivist) to come and help return the papers to a usable, organized collection 2) include at least 2-50 minute PomsWednesdayThursday and Friday this week in addition to scanning the materials I expect to use in the upcoming two weeks so they are readily accessible and entered into Zotero with the intention of returning to 4-50 minute poms of actual writing next week. Immediate goal–to have a 2 page writing sample from Chapter one ready for my Department’s writing group meeting on Thursday.

About droyles

Historian of the recent American past.
This entry was posted in Summer Writes and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Summer Writes: Week 7

  1. I’ve been AWOL from the blog but I’ve been steadily working- hitting the archives 5 days a week and writing when the mood strikes (I’ve had to be disciplined about taking a day off on the weekend). I am up to about 12 pages of my summer chapter. I will take a break for the holiday but have a 45 minute talk coming up that I will start to get together in the coming week.

  2. Roberta says:

    I’ve continued to have a bit of a setback in actual writing as I’ve incorporated working with two student workers who are helping enter sources into Zotero. Realized that the collection of papers in my possession are not as organized as they need to be so giving them things to work on that will actually help with the upcoming writing sessions has been a bit bumpy. Goals 1) to arrange for my sister (archivist) to come and help return the papers to a usable, organized collection 2) include at least 2-50 minute Poms Wednesday, Thursday and Friday this week in addition to scanning the materials I expect to use in the upcoming two weeks so they are readily accessible and entered into Zotero with the intention of returning to 4-50 minute poms of actual writing next week. Immediate goal–to have a 2 page writing sample from Chapter one ready for my Department’s writing group meeting on Thursday.

  3. Meg Welsh says:

    Ok, mid-week update that I promised myself I would write: I was supposed to get back to my R&R yesterday after receiving some awesome feedback from two colleagues, but I ended up spending most of the day working on job search stuff. Of course, this was all necessary to do, but I am concerned that this is going to continue to happen, as finding a job feels more urgent than finishing the dissertation. I need to stick to my morning writing routine no matter what, and worry about jobs in the late afternoon when I can’t write any more any way!!! So today I am going to work on the revisions. I’m not quite sure how to approach this, but organization has been a weakness with this paper, so I am going to go against my normal sloppy writing approach and make an outline first! Then start filling in key pieces of my argument, etc.

  4. Nicole says:

    Basically, I still have to complete most of the goals I set out last week. Defense is Tuesday! I have been practicing Q and A for the defense with 2 colleagues and by roughly writing out some of the answers to anticipated questions. But I still need to finish rereading dissertation, and (key) finish preparing the 10 minute presentation covering questions, analytical process, and contributions, practice this tomorrow afternoon with 2 colleagues, and also write the abstract (in the worst case this can be done after the diss. defense but that is less desirable; I will be even more over it then!).

  5. droyles says:

    Did pretty well with my time goals, and finished a full (read: overly long) article draft by Wednesday! I read through it and have a sense of what’s going to get cut and moved around, but I’m going to let that percolate for a little bit while I give some attention to other things this week. My second goal for the summer was to get a book proposal done for my oral history project, but I’m thinking now that my time would be better spent making sure that the oral history project itself is moving along apace. So this week my focus is going to be editing transcripts that I’ve had in the can for a while, and getting those sent out to narrators for review. I’m also going to turn some serious attention to preparing my classes for the fall, and getting all of the materials that I have uploaded to Omeka. So it’s kind of a clearing-the-decks week for me. Monday I’m going to spend with my boyfriend because he has the day off, but Tuesday through Friday I’m going to stick to my five big poms, but adjust my work schedule to be 10 to 12, 130 to 330, and 4 to 5, and see how that goes.

Leave a Reply

