Spring Writes: Week 12

Writing OPULENCE.

Writing OPULENCE.

Here we are, at the end of the first Spring Writes! I hope everyone found the experience to be at least somewhat useful. If you haven’t added your goals for our last week yet, do so in the comments! And next week we’ll have one last post for any final thoughts before we take a break. Summer Writes will start up in May, so watch this space for updates!

Weekly Goals:

Nicole: Move on to the next thing this week too (probably methods and intro). Defense is still being scheduled but it could be pretty soon so I need to wrap up/ do intro, conclusion and methods chapters that are outlined.

Meg: This week’s goal is to make big headway on a book chapter that is due May 31st on ethnographic fieldwork and prisoner reentry activism. (I must set aside the other stuff as my advisor won’t be able to weigh in on that until next week at the earliest). So far I have a detailed outline of this chapter. Mini-goals for this week:
Monday (today): finish drafting one section (how I entered into the research setting) and re-read a few key articles that will spur my thinking about the other sections.
Wednesday: read through analyses of my field notes and start mapping out my data sections.
Friday: start piecing together a brief lit review on others’ approaches to fieldwork on reentry, institutional barriers to reentry, etc.

Dan: Tuesday I’m going to come home and do eight poms from 3 to 730, and then do eight poms each Wednesday through Saturday, working 1 to 530.

About droyles

Historian of the recent American past.
This entry was posted in Spring Writes and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Spring Writes: Week 12

  1. I was absent the past couple of weeks because I was not doing too much writing (or well ok I did revise my dissertation proposal and send it out to my committee and revise my Fulbright – so there’s that) and instead prepping for the inevitable event that is candidacy exams. I got my questions today and am 11 pages deep and 18 pomodoros into the first of what will make for a long 10 days of writing!! See ya’ll on the other side!!

  2. Nicole says:

    I did some rearranging of information this week with regard to my last empirical chapters. What was just a single chapter now is two. It makes sense right now… hopefully this will work out in a way that follow the threads through without overwhelming the reader. I need to get the 4th chapter finished (close) and fully write the 5th. I hope in a week I will just be polishing the 5th, because it is time to move on!!!

  3. Meg Welsh says:

    I’ve made big progress on my book chapter. 3,000+ words now (limit is 6,000). If only about half of what I’ve written is crap, I’m about a quarter of the way there, which isn’t too bad! This week is finally my spring break, so I am really trying to devote as much time as possible to this, 9am to 2pm every day this week. See you in the summer, y’all!

  4. Nicole says:

    Need to finish this religion chapter this week for real.

Leave a Reply

