Spring Writes: Week 10

We (set writing goals) flawless(ly).

We (set writing goals) flawless(ly).

Sorry for the tardiness in posting! I entered my thirties on Monday with an awesome head cold, so I’ve been a little out of sorts and playing catch up all week. Next week we’ll be back to our regular schedule, I promise.

In the meantime, check out this time management post from Natalie Houston at ProfHacker. I’ve been interested in the GTD method for a while now, but (ironically) can’t seem to find the time to learn more about it. I’ve been using the pomodoro method for some time now, along with very long and detailed to-do lists, but we all want to be more productive, right? So, any GTD aficionados out there? Whether or not you are, tell us about your approach to time management in the comments!

And now, your weekly goals:

Nicole: My goal for this week is to actually make empirical Ch. 3 of my diss. coherent. I had to redo some of the analysis. I am still trying to make it clear and logically follow the last one better. Also, getting from concepts to measures has to be clearer. Separate goal: do the writing for my joint paper, writing up what we laid out in our meeting.

Meg: My main aim for this week is to firm up some analysis I’ve been working on for what will eventually be a diss. chapter. I’m presenting this analysis at a grad. student conference on Friday. To do this, I want to commit to myself to work on my stuff tomorrow (Monday) from 11am to 3pm, Wednesday from noon to 4pm, and Friday morning before the conference.

About droyles

Historian of the recent American past.
This entry was posted in Spring Writes and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Spring Writes: Week 10

  1. so behind- according to my log I took 12 days off from the dissertation (which isn’t completely true… I did some blogging and some networking and some thinking). Now I am trying to get this chapter draft done- today, finishing up some outlining, next week, writing those outlines up. trying to think of it as “8 paragraphs” instead of “so much work to do.”

  2. Nicole says:

    Hi. It’s time to do the weekly updates but I am hoping my scene will look different if I do this in a few more hours!

  3. Nicole says:

    Hi. Finally finished demonic chapter on gender!!!! This week’s task is to get the religion chapter into shape from its half-written status; also I need to read about evangelical familialism and at least one other book I don’t want to get too lost in that.

  4. Meg Welsh says:

    Dan, I hope you are feeling better, and Nicole, congrats on closing the book–so-to-speak–on gender!!!

    The presentation of my data at the grad student conference last week was well-received, but I still haven’t figured out what my main argument is (ah, the ethnographer’s dilemma of thick description just for the sake of description!). I have a deadline of April 28th to finish this paper for a bigger conference. So, I’d like to do that this week. Desired work schedule toward this goal: Monday 11-2pm
    Weds. 8am to 1pm
    Friday 8am to 1pm
    Secondary goal: continue piecing together a book chapter I have due at the end of May. Any time I have left over needs to go toward that.

Leave a Reply

