Spring Writes: Week 5

Smoking by our writing goals.

Smoking by our writing goals.

Happy President’s Day, y’all!

Weekly goals:

Mike:

1. Revised my dissertation proposal
2. Submitted a conference abstract
3. Finalized the date for a symposium I’m organizing
Tuesday:
5 poms on Dissertation Proposal
4 poms on developing questions for Candidacy exams

Wednesday:
3 poms on Russian ethnographers. Booked with meetings and teaching otherwise.

Thursday:
Heavy dissertation revision proposal day
Rough draft of abstract

Friday:
Keep up with Russian ethnography

Weekend:
Finish DP proposal revision (keep an eye on bulking up language and gender bibliography)
Submit abstract

Sarah: 1 day at NARA; 1 evening at LoC; keep working on finding a UHA discussant (anyone have ideas for people who could comment on a panel about urban disaster management? March 1 is rapidly approaching…); spend some good, focused time reading the chapter comments I just received.

Nicole: Complete empirical Chapter 2.

Melanie: Submit my conference proposal, another grant app, and write all day on Wednesday.

Dan: Same time and scheduling goals as last week. I have two applications to submit, as well as a blog post for another site.

About droyles

Historian of the recent American past.
This entry was posted in Spring Writes and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Spring Writes: Week 5

  1. Weekly goals: By the end of this week I will have
    1. Revised my dissertation proposal
    2. Submitted a conference abstract
    3. Finalized the date for a symposium I’m organizing
    Tuesday:
    5 poms on Dissertation Proposal
    4 poms on developing questions for Candidacy exams

    Wednesday:
    3 poms on Russian ethnographers. Booked with meetings and teaching otherwise.

    Thursday:
    Heavy dissertation revision proposal day
    Rough draft of abstract

    Friday:
    Keep up with Russian ethnography

    Weekend:
    Finish DP proposal revision (keep an eye on bulking up language and gender bibliography)
    Submit abstract

  2. Bunny says:

    Week goals: Post to three threaded discussion questions (initial and response), post three papers, tweak a PowerPoint presentation for a briefing to the commanders on Wednesday, and complete four reports for work! Have a good week everyone!

  3. Meg Welsh says:

    Two conferences (and two different paper presentations) last week rendered me pretty unable to make–let alone meet–any writing goals. But I am back! Main goal for the week: complete and send off research report to one of my dissertation research partners (hopefully this report will serve as the starting point for one of my empirical chapters). To do this, I need to keep the following schedule:
    Monday: Write from 8am to noon
    Wednesday: Write from 8am to noon
    Friday: Devote all day to finishing it up and sending it off.

  4. carlygoodman says:

    Sorry to drop off the map the past few weeks. I finished up a project I was doing for Immerman and have submitted several applications. I am departing on my honeymoon at 6 am on Wednesday and have a lot to do to prepare (including watch The Bachelor) and so I may have to triage.
    I will:
    – Get my JAB conference paper drafted and turned in
    – Send a final grant request
    – Register for painting class
    – Final CENFAD tasks/emails
    – Send comments for writer in diss colloq class/attend

    I may:
    – Submit one or more cfps that have been hanging around on my list

    I will miss you guys for the next two weeks – I have been told I may not take my computer on said honeymoon – but when I get back the semester will truly be in swing and I’ll have no excuses for not writing all the words all the time. Glad to have this community of support! I wish you all deluges of positive emails so you can enjoy those brain chemicals that are released when good news comes in email form. And enjoy spring break.

  5. droyles says:

    I did pretty well re my goals this week, except for Thursday, because I took a last-minute trip to Paris to take care of some errands, meet with another researcher, and go to an ACT UP Paris meeting. I also started reading Margaret Atwood’s MaddAddam, which has some choice quotes about writing. To wit: “There’s the story, then there’s the real story, then there’s the story of how the story came to be told. Then there’s what you leave out of the story. Which is part of the story too.”

    So for the coming week, I need to take into account that I’ll be traveling Wednesday and Thursday, so I’m not going to set a writing goal for myself those days. For Friday and Saturday, I’m going to get four poms each day, so that I can have some time to enjoy CAPE TOWN, which is where I’ll be from Thursday to the following Thursday! I’m really excited about connecting with another scholar, who works on South African AIDS activism, and hopefully getting to meet some activists as well. But while I’m down there, my goals are probably going to be pretty light. So for this week, four poms Tuesday, Friday, and Saturday. I have three applications to submit in the next week, so most of my time will probably be devoted to those, but I also want to keep up the momentum I’ve built in digging into new material for my chapter revisions, so I’m going to set aside at least one pom a day for that purpose.

  6. My panel proposal is being finalized, I got my fellowship app of the week in, and I wrote 3900 words last week. After a nice relaxing weekend to get my mind right, my goals are to finish the last of my fellowship apps, really and truly get this panel proposal submitted, and to do some Serious Writing on Monday afternoon and all day on Wednesday. I am finding that focusing on using all of the time I have set aside to write works better for me than setting specific goals for word counts, finishing a section (I am close!) etc.

    Speaking of recreational reading, I’ve been reading Alice Walker’s The Color Purple for the first time. I’ve never seen the movie. The style of the book, as a series of letters (some that aren’t sent, others that don’t get through) that tell of the emergence of a consciousness, is really speaking to me as a historian. Trying to be mindful of the details and find the human in my institutional story is a challenge… literature keeps me honest.

  7. Nicole says:

    Hi. I guess my post never made it up. Here goes again.
    1) Chapter 2. It is moving, but has gotten very long, and is overdue. Needs to get finished now.
    2) Out of my hands still for the time being, but once I get my R and R article back, I need to get it to one more person and then send it back to the journal.
    3) Need to do my own 2 par description of what I’m doing in the collaborative punishment paper, and assemble this with others they’ll send me into 1 doc.

  8. Sarah says:

    Blergh. Rough week on my end. I’m glad I’m keeping a dissertation progress journal or I wouldn’t be able to remember what I did all last week, which was: a lazy holiday Monday; two VERY productive days at NARA II, full of unexpected finds; an afternoon at LOC; and finally found a discussant for UHA.

    This week, onward! To do: round up the last few docs for UHA and send in the application; submit a proposal for an international conference in October; one day at NARA; and spend at least a day processing my recent archival research. Maybe if I’m feeling extra motivated, I might outline chapter 2.

Leave a Reply

