Fall Writes: Week 2

Welcome, bienvenue, wilkommen to week 2, Fall Writers! If you haven’t yet set your goals for the week, post them in the comments and I’ll add them below. As many of you deal with the beginning of a new semester and the chaos that goes along with it, take some advice from Zadie Smith: “Protect the time and space in which you write. Keep everybody away from it, even the people who are most important to you.” Read the rest of her tips on writing here, and have a great week!

Goals:

Melanie: Figure out fellowships and deadlines, make a very ass-kicking list of books and articles to read in the next month and make notes on the ones I already have.

Mike: Beat last week’s pomodoro total (and bring it up to about 15), clean up writing from last week to have ten pages by Friday.

Dan: Make revisions to chapter five, write conclusion, edit full manuscript for redundancies and flow.

Meg:

-Today: Four pomodoros-worth of writing up my reflections from my interviews last week
-Tuesday: Four pomodoros on Chapter 1
-Friday: Eight pomodoros on Chapter 1

Brenna: Finish revising Ch. 2 to be used as a writing sample for job applications, write at least 10 pages of Ch. 4, one full day in the archive.

About droyles

Historian of the recent American past.
This entry was posted in Fall Writes. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Fall Writes: Week 2

  1. brennainphilly says:

    Sadly, the first week back at Temple made for a very unproductive week last week (full, busy days at the Writing Center made for a very tired me by the end of each day. I could barely complete full sentences verbally, so writing was not going to happen). I did not meet my goals, so this week they are roughly the same. Tonight, I need to finish revising Ch. 2 to be used as a writing sample for job applications, the first of which I hope to get in the mail by Wednesday. For the rest of the week, I MUST write at least 10 pages of Ch. 4 and I’m hoping to get one full day in the archive.

  2. Megan Welsh says:

    Today: Four pomodoros-worth of writing up my reflections from my interviews last week
    Tuesday: Four pomodoros on Chapter 1
    Friday: Eight pomodoros on Chapter 1
    Depressingly, that’s all the time I have for my own work this week.

  3. Evie says:

    This week:
    Finish Viaduct post
    Five pomodoros-worth of writing
    Create personal site outline on WordPress

Leave a Reply

