Summer Writes: Week 4 Wrap Up

Another week down–where does the time go? I know we’re all over the place this week, with trips to archives, conferences, and weddings, but take a minute to check in and let us know how things are going. Did you meet your goals this week? What are you going to do in the coming week? Tell us about it–and happy midsummer!

About droyles

Historian of the recent American past.
This entry was posted in Summer Writes. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Summer Writes: Week 4 Wrap Up

  1. droyles says:

    I made all my pomodoro goals this week, but I didn’t get the chapter revision done by Thursday so that I could just copy edit on the plane. Instead, I was still going through files and writing well into Friday morning, and then editing in between the wedding and the reception that I went to that afternoon/evening. I still got my chapter in on time, though! So far I’m sticking pretty well to the timeline I set for myself to defend in the fall.

    For the coming week, I will be flying Monday, but I would still like to get eight pomodoros of work done–probably a lot of course prep. Tuesday through Thursday, another eight pomodoros each, and then only four each on Friday and Saturday, because I’ll be up at Lake Michigan with some friends. I’m also going to get through the files that I have on Balm in Gilead, so that I can start getting that chapter in order, and start revising my chapter on ACT UP Philly.

  2. Matthew Johnson says:

    I didn’t get as much done as I had hoped, but I went to Penn and got caught up on recent history of higher ed literature and took notes on five boxes of material I brought back from Michigan.

    Next week, I want to write my opening two lectures for the US Since 1877 survey and take notes on at least five more boxes of archival material.

  3. Megan Welsh says:

    Hi y’all, as predicted, I got very little writing work done this week, as I spent most of my time recovering from an annoying summer illness, doing useless, mind-numbing tasks for my research assistant job, and fighting depression about how far I am from the end of this degree. But a short trip to Philly this weekend recharged my spirit, and I am feeling much more optimistic about things. I am very thankful for this space to help me set and achieve goals.

    I’ve spent today getting back into the groove of data analysis. By the end of the day Tuesday, I want to send my advisor five fully-coded transcripts and digests for her to review.

    For the remainder of the week, I want to continue open-coding transcripts and writing summary digests and thematic memos, with a goal of eight pomodoros per day for Wednesday through Friday. My hope is that by Friday, I will have sufficiently immersed myself in this data so that I can begin mapping out the paper I want to complete by early September.

    Thanks for the pomodoro app suggestion, Dan. I’m using and loving it!

  4. I’m a little overwhelmed by the notion that I now have to process everything I turboscanned in Chicago last week. As I’ve been sluggish since getting back from the trip, I dipped my toe in yesterday and made a a Scapple (I always want to call it Scrapple) that helped me to organize my thoughts and develop a sense of what my tags should be. Matt’s goal of processing 5 boxes a week sounds really manageable, so I’m going to give that a shot.
    Since I am headed on vacation to Vermont the week after this, and my summer class starts two weeks from today, I’m going to get a jump on planning what we’ll do each day in the course. I’d like to devote an hour a day on the weekdays to this task.

  5. carlygoodman says:

    On my to-do list for this week: Digest some of my notes from DC last week; draft that ASLH paper; draft an op-ed on the DV lottery. It’s under fire during immigration reform, and in DC when you know about a hot legislative topic, you write an op-ed. I wound up at a pro-DV lottery rally last week, and I realized I have some stuff that would contribute to this debate. I am going to NY for a wedding next weekend, and I am thinking I may contact an archive in the city to try to go look at some stuff on Friday before heading upstate. Why do I feel like this week is already over?

  6. brennainphilly says:

    Sorry for not posting last week! I was in North Carolina for the week for my sister-in-law’s wedding and I successfully put all work aside to try to relax. I was productive in the sense that I got a little tan and read two thick novels. Now it’s back to reality.
    I’m still not done with that pesky book review, so that’s my goal (again) for this week. Hopefully it doesn’t take too much longer but it’s a big and complicated book (thankfully a good one) so I’m struggling to do it justice. I’d also like to get in at least one full day at the archive this week picking up loose ends for chapter three so that I can begin a chapter outline. Thankfully, I got a lot of busy work done organizing archival material (that I failed to post about last week), so I think I have a pretty strong grasp on what I have. I also need to brush up on some secondary literature for chapter three. So, I lot of little things this week, but if I can get them all done I’ll be happy with my progress.

  7. Holger Loewendorf says:

    Week 4 was short, but better than expected. I finished my notes and talked to several publishers at SHAFR, who did not yawn visibly when I gave them my spiel. More importantly perhaps, the German-American panel at that conference was so bad that it validated my choice of topic and provided a much-needed confidence boost. On top of it all, it was great to see a lot of familiar faces and have some interesting conversations for a change (which doesn’t happen in Atlanta unless Dan stops by).

Leave a Reply

