Week 10 Recap

Not even really sure what to say here. Two weeks left in the summer, let’s get this done. Tell us about your progress in the comments.

About droyles

Historian of the recent American past.
This entry was posted in Summer Writes. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Week 10 Recap

  1. Tim says:

    Two weeks, yikes! Well, let it never be said that I don’t work well under pressure. Basically, I have worked on four different chapters over the course of the summer. My original goal I think was to have all four of those fully polished and an additional one written by September, I think it’s fair to say that extra chapter isn’t going to materialize out of thin air in two weeks, so bummer there. The others are generally in OK shape and I think I can wrap them up in two weeks, but I have a lot of gap-filling and smoothing out to do in that time.

    So, goal for this week: Finish my intro. Like full-on, polished up, footnotes fixed, spelling checked, read-and-revised twice over kind of finished. The two chapters after that are very close to done as well, if I can get to finishing up one of them as well all the better.

  2. droyles says:

    The last week and a half was pretty jam-packed, as I had each parent visit SF on consecutive weekends and tried to cram in a lot of quality last-minute hanging out time with the people I just don’t see often enough. I did manage to get some work done, but made little headway on the paper/chapter beyond some outlining. For the most part, I spent my time getting my websites squared away-my personal site, and the one for my oral history project. With a week and a half now left in our writing period and a full (but fun!) travel schedule facing me, I’m not sure how I’m going to get the chapter done, so I’m retooling my goals a little bit. Instead of aiming for a full chapter draft, I’m just going to write the conference paper and use that as the basis for the eventual chapter. That should give me a good opportunity to just get my thoughts on paper, and I can fill in the gaps later.

    I did get the second draft of my introduction back, with largely positive comments, so that time that I put into the revision was well worth it!

Leave a Reply

