Mid-Week Lifestyle Link

This post at Profhacker by Natalie Houston about making lifestyle changes caught my eye yesterday because I think it captures what I think has been the biggest benefit for me of doing this writing group. I generally don’t have a problem carving out time for things like exercise and self-care, but I do have trouble making time to actually sit down and write. Part of the problem, I think, is the nature of the work–a project like a dissertation can feel so big as to be overwhelming. But having specific goals–length of time spent writing or number of words produced every day–makes things a lot more manageable, and prevents the paralysis-by-anxiety that I’m sure sometimes gets the best of all of us.

About droyles

Historian of the recent American past.
This entry was posted in Summer Writes. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

