The power of positive thinking(?)

I’ll be frank: I have not been happy with my dissertation process lately.  From articulating major questions to identifying key actors to framing a narrative arc for the (hopefully) eventual book, it seems as though since my prospectus defense I’ve been moving backward rather than forward.  I actually feel like I have less of a clear sense of the project now than I did, say, three months ago.  Needless to say, this has been distressing, and I want to thank everyone who patiently listened to me moan about just how difficult writing a dissertation can be.  I know what you were probably all thinking:

Judge Judy tells it like it is.

Judge Judy tells it like it is.

If not, you’re more patient than I, and if so, I wouldn’t blame you.  Yes, getting a Ph.D. is hard.  That’s kind of the point.  If there’s anything I’ve learned from reading other academics’ blogs, it’s that the whole thing doesn’t get easier.  Creating new knowledge (as Historiann often puts it) is always going to be a difficult process, and just about everyone feels insecure about their work at some point.  At the end of the day, however, it still has to get done.

With that in mind, I’m trying to turn over a new leaf of sorts, doing less whining about how difficult the process is, and more, you know, work.  Welcome to my New Year’s resolution, a month and a half late.  I pledge optimism and productivity; I said nothing about punctuality.

In other news, Jenny started a blog!  Treat her well and she might organize your closet.  Seriously, she likes to organize things.  She also has quite a thing for pens.

Ciao, kids!

About droyles

Historian of the recent American past.
This entry was posted in history, mo money mo problems. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

