Calm down there, Mary.

 

We have fabulous weddings, deal with it.

I’ll put the wedding planner on hold for my upcoming trip back to California, because even though Judge Vaughn Walker (yes, he’s one of us, but Bush I appointed him, so can we all please shut up about it?) struck down Proposition 8 today, same-sex couples won’t be getting married in the Golden State until at least Friday.  Walker granted an injunction to Prop 8 supporters, but according to Nan Hunter, the ruling could go into effect as early as Friday.  At least that’s what it sounds like.  I haven’t heard as much reported elsewhere, but Nan Hunter is real legit, y’all, so I’m gonna go ahead and believe her.  Anyway, the defendants in this case are going to appeal the decision, possibly to the Supreme Court, so this story is far from over.  For now, though, this is an important victory.

I was at the San Diego International Airport when I found out, via text message from my gay best friend Aaron, that the California Supreme Court had struck down marriage inequality in the state.  It was a poignant moment for me not only because it meant that I could now marry in the state of my birth, but because I was there to officiate the wedding of my best friend from high school and date to several homecoming dances, April, and the timing just seemed so perfect.  I already could not have been more happy for April and Matt, who I’ve known since I was like 10 because we were in Boy Scouts together and he happens to be the brother of my other best friend, Evie–I have a lot of best friends–but now I could also be happy for things like (a very narrow form of) social justice and equality as well.

Fast forward about six months.  I’m at McGillin’s Ale House in Philadelphia, getting over a bout of strep throat but drinking beers anyway to celebrate the results of the 2008 presidential election.  I got a little (okay, a lot) misty when Obama actually said the word “gay” in his acceptance speech (how far away that moment seems now) but in the back of my mind I knew that another set of election returns was likely to disappoint me.  In the weeks leading up to election day, I had seen polls shift from opposing to favoring Prop 8, and read about the horrendous gobs of money being hemorrhaged in support of bigotry.  And it’s not like it was just Prop 8, there were others as well!

So I guess what I’m saying is that it’s pretty hard for me to be totally sanguine about this.  But for now, yay for gay, and hopefully a house falls on Maggie Gallagher.

About droyles

Historian of the recent American past.
This entry was posted in LGBT. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

