Spring Writes: Week 8

Our Lady of Weekly Writing Goals

Our Lady of Weekly Writing Goals

Welcome to Week 8! In honor of this week, here are Kurt Vonnegut’s “8 Rules of Fiction Writing,” taken from Bagombo Snuff Box. Number 1 most likely applies to everyone, whereas number 7 is interesting to read in light of Nicholas Kristof’s recent kerfuffle over the “absence” of public intellectuals. Number 6 may be unworkable for non-fiction writers (although we do all make narrative choices) while number 8 points to the “signposting” that my adviser always urged me to do, because readers can be quite lazy. In any case, check them out, and feel free to share your favorite writing rules, of famous provenance or otherwise.

Weekly goals:

Meg: Devote the 6 hours on the plane each way to “my stuff,” which means continued analysis of my probation and parole interview transcripts, making some sense of the data, consulting the recent lit on the topic, and starting to put together the framework for a dissertation chapter/future pub.

Sarah: 1) make the first round of revisions on Chapter 1 in preparation for a workshop later this month 2) process a mountain of scans from NARA from the last few weeks.

Nicole: This week my next huge goal is to try to finish the gender Chapter (3) which is a lot written out but not completed. That would be a great way to start spring break, considering I’m behind on my timeline of many more chapters!

Dan: 4 poms Tuesday and Thursday, wherever I can get them. Wednesday, 8 poms from 3 to 8, Friday 4 poms from 6 to 8, and Saturday 4 poms from 6 to 8 (I want to also get out for a ride that day, hence the modest goal).

Melanie: Put in some big work days on wednesday and friday to try to wrap up this first draft of chapter 3. and sending out this last fellowship out now, for real, I promise.

Mike: Wednesday: 8 poms on Dissertation Proposal, 4 poms on readings.
Thursday: 4 poms on readings for candidacy exams (prepping for a meeting that day)
Friday: 4 poms on dissertation proposal, 6 poms on Fulbright, 6 poms on reading
Saturday: 8 poms on reading, 4 on diss proposal, 4 on Fulbright (Grading in the evening)
Sunday: Grading students exams, 4 poms on Fulbright, 4 on reading

About droyles

Historian of the recent American past.
This entry was posted in Spring Writes and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Spring Writes: Week 8

  1. basically at the point in the semester where I have no goals because I can’t see the end of the tunnel. would like to put in some big work days on wednesday and friday to try to wrap up this first draft of chapter 3. and sending out this last fellowship out now, for real, I promise.

  2. Nicole says:

    Just wanted to clarify that I need to finish Chapter 2 immanently, then Chapter 3! Good luck, everyone.

  3. It’s spring break this week for us, so I’ve been doing some work but also relaxing a little too (day trip out to Yellow Springs (home of Dave Chapelle and hiking!) yesterday, but the remaining days of the break should feature work pretty heavily as I need to get some projects out of the way to make more time for reading for generals!
    Wednesday: 8 poms on Dissertation Proposal, 4 poms on readings.
    Thursday: 4 poms on readings for candidacy exams (prepping for a meeting that day)
    Friday: 4 poms on dissertation proposal, 6 poms on Fulbright, 6 poms on reading
    Saturday: 8 poms on reading, 4 on diss proposal, 4 on Fulbright (Grading in the evening)
    Sunday: Grading students exams, 4 poms on Fulbright, 4 on reading

    Hopefully by the end of the week I’ll have a revised dissertation proposal and a revised fulbright proposal and hopefully these drafts will be mostly final!

  4. droyles says:

    Happy to report that I hit all of my goals (which were admittedly modest, because I was literally all over the place) this week, doing quite a bit of writing on trains in case the #AmtrakResidency (I’m using the hashtag even though this isn’t Twitter, #sorrynotsorry) comes through. This week I’m all over the place again, giving exams tomorrow, teaching Tuesday, and flying to New York on Wednesday for a conference and some, erm, job-related things. I also do need to accomplish lots of things, including two applications to be submitted online and one by snail mail, which I’m trying to get out by Friday to avoid astronomical Interfolio prices. Since tomorrow I’m giving exams instead of teaching, I’ll be off of campus much earlier than normal. I’m going to use that as an opportunity to squeeze in six poms in the evening, from 5 to 830. I’ll even put it in my iCal as an inducement to stick to that schedule, and I’ll do the same thing Tuesday. All this is so that I don’t leave too much work for myself on the plane, because I find that to be really difficult. I have some things that I want to read for later in the week, so I’ll download those to my iPad for the plane, but I want to avoid writing in the air, if at all possible. Alternately, I may also edit some oral history transcripts on the plane. For Thursday I’ll set a modest goal of four poms throughout the day, because my schedule will be a little hectic, and Friday I don’t plan to do any work, aside from maybe some casual reading. Saturday I plan to do some quality brunching, work (maybe oral history editing) on the train to Philly, and then many poms of eating Santucci’s with some of y’all for my 30th birthday!

  5. Nicole says:

    This pas week: I finally got Chapter 2 completed (really only one chunk of the old Chapter 2 that turned into three chapters).
    For the week of Sun 3/16- Sat 3/22: I want to finish or get as far as possible toward finishing chapter 3 on gender. It is partly written and the tables are done but everything needs to be tweaked, reordered, etc. Definitely I don’t need as many examples as I have, and the ones I do have I need to sink deeper into with more detail.

Leave a Reply

