Spring Writes: Week 6

"Gorl, how much did you write?"

“Gorl, how much did you write?”

Welcome to Week 6, Spring Writers! As we head into this week, it might be a good time to take stock of our goals for the semester, and what we need to do from here until the end to reach them. And remember, it’s okay to revise your goals!

With that in mind, here are your goals for the week:

Sarah: Round up the last few docs for UHA and send in the application; submit a proposal for an international conference in October; one day at NARA; and spend at least a day processing my recent archival research. Maybe if I’m feeling extra motivated, I might outline chapter 2.

Nicole: 1) Chapter 2. It is moving, but has gotten very long, and is overdue. Needs to get finished now.
2) Out of my hands still for the time being, but once I get my R and R article back, I need to get it to one more person and then send it back to the journal.
3) Need to do my own 2 par description of what I’m doing in the collaborative punishment paper, and assemble this with others they’ll send me into 1 doc.

Melanie: My goals are to finish the last of my fellowship apps, really and truly get this panel proposal submitted, and to do some Serious Writing on Monday afternoon and all day on Wednesday.

Dan: I need to take into account that I’ll be traveling Wednesday and Thursday, so I’m not going to set a writing goal for myself those days. For Friday and Saturday, I’m going to get four poms each day.

Carly:

I will:
- Get my JAB conference paper drafted and turned in
- Send a final grant request
- Register for painting class
- Final CENFAD tasks/emails
- Send comments for writer in diss colloq class/attend

I may:
- Submit one or more cfps that have been hanging around on my list

Meg: Main goal for the week: complete and send off research report to one of my dissertation research partners (hopefully this report will serve as the starting point for one of my empirical chapters). To do this, I need to keep the following schedule:
Monday: Write from 8am to noon
Wednesday: Write from 8am to noon
Friday: Devote all day to finishing it up and sending it off.

Bunny: Post to three threaded discussion questions (initial and response), post three papers, tweak a PowerPoint presentation for a briefing to the commanders on Wednesday, and complete four reports for work!

About droyles

Historian of the recent American past.
This entry was posted in Spring Writes and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Spring Writes: Week 6

  1. My writing goals are not too strong this week as I am actually taking a trip over the weekend. Last week I successfully revised my dissertation proposal, and last night I submitted an abstract for a conference. My main goals this week are keep up with my candidacy exam preparations. I do hope to revise my Fulbright application by the end of next week.
    Tuesday: 7 poms on Candidacy readings
    Wednesday: 2 poms on Candidacy readings
    Thursday: 6 poms on Candidacy Readings

  2. Nicole says:

    Hi. A development this week was split up this massive thing I was calling “Chapter 2″ into chunks (their own chapters) based on the three topics in it. This actually dealt with some organization problems. I am trying to get the first one, on State Absence, done today or tomorrow. I want to get the Gender one also out this time next week!!! I am behind on my outline, but it makes sense why, because this thing has so much freaking content (i.e. what are now these three chapters).
    Also this coming week: after some volleying back and forth, I am going to get my R and R article back in my hands, update the page numbers on the memo, run it by someone, and hopefully get it back to the journal promptly!!

  3. Meg Welsh says:

    Goal #1: Research report is thisclose to being done. Send it off by 11am Monday.
    Goal #2: Catch up on some work stuff I have neglected rest of Monday and Tuesday.
    Goal #3: Devote at least from 8am to 1pm Wednesday and Friday on my stuff:
    Subgoal A: continue data analysis for a paper that is due at the end of April.
    Subgoal B: outline/figure out my angle for a book chapter that is due at the end of May.

  4. Roberta says:

    I will do my OWN, dissertation work four days a week rather than the three I’ve been averaging since joining this group. While 3 days a week is far better than the intermittent returns to the work over the previous 6 months, it isn’t good enough. I am trying to be realistic and realize that the daily goal isn’t working yet so I’m committing to 4 days this week with the determination to continue that after our Spring Break. Weak goals I know but goals nonetheless!

Leave a Reply

